Summing up a month of life in circa 1000 words

Featuring, in this order:

  • A brief update on what’s been going on.
  • Capstone ramblings.
  • Oh look, I still don’t know what I’m doing with my life.
  • Apparently I’m making a costume for Elfia because I hadn’t got enough on my plate.

 

It’s been over a month since I last wrote a blog post! Can you believe it? Well in the time that’s passed there has been a lot of important things going on but very few discrete events to write about. Not to mention the fact that time is a pretty rare commodity at the moment. But right now it’s spring break and I thought that while I’m sat here waiting for my dinner to cook (curry time!) I could write something about what’s been going on recently. Heavens only knows it’s been long enough.

So, to start with those discrete events and then move onto more general life… I suppose the earliest thing that hasn’t been covered here was Kim’s visit back in March. She was over with her mother for Comic Con and, as that’s just a stone’s throw from me in Utrecht there, she had to come and be social. Simply no choice! Actually, we hadn’t seen each other in a really long time and I think we only worked out just how long it had been when we actually saw each other. Either way, it was great to catch up. After a very late brunch (they had had an early morning flight and arrived that morning) it was on to our usual haunt for cocktails. Actually, after the hard work day I’ve had today, I could drink one of those now! We sadly didn’t get to see each other on the Monday, as planned, as Kim was a bit under the weather but as she’ll be out again in just over a month it could be worse.

I’ve also been back to England a couple of times over the past few weeks. The first time was technically a capstone research weekend but I must admit that I spent a lot of the time eating my way through half the food supplies of England and the second trip was for Easter… so I had an excuse to eat copious amounts! The trips back home have a bit of a weird feeling now because there’s an uncertainty about how many times I will make such trips again. That sounds much more dire than I actually mean but with the lease on my flat ending and the future a bit up in the air… I don’t actually know where I will be living come July!

Other than that, it’s been business as usual with university. I cannot believe that – as long as I don’t completely collapse at this late stage – I have five weeks left. Writing that down has made me feel a bit funny actually. Right now, I have so many deadlines (not least for the capstone dissertation) that, thinking about it all, my stomach is tying itself in little knots. Where has the time gone

As for the capstone, I finally had a eureka moment where I found what it was I was arguing and I now have a true direction for the paper. I mean, it’s likely to change a little as I continue to write but at least I’m writing towards something quite solid right now. I can’t tell you how I feel about my capstone itself right now. I kinda want to chuck it out o the window because it’s so frustrating! At the same time, I’m getting more interested in and passionate about what I’m writing. I feel like I’m old friends with most of the characters in Arthurian legend right now and, particularly when it comes to Tennyson and the Pre-Raphaelite imaginations of those legends, well, I could go on for hours about how cool they are and look at all this symbolism and carefully constructed yet hidden meaning etc. etc. etc. So, I have quite a strong passion for what I’m writing about – I guess – but am struggling with converting that to an academic paper. Can’t I just write a book? With an accompanying documentary series?

As for what I will do after I, heavens permitting, graduate… that’s still all very much up in the air. I should really have heard back about my university application right now and certainly by Thursday (the six week mark) so I will wait until then then chase them up a bit to see what’s going on. I’m applying for university in the UK because of course choice but I really do not want to move away from The Netherlands. This was always supposed to be a temporary move, just for university, but this little country has become my home. I’m trying to plan things so I can come back – or even just stay – but until I know my university plans I simply cannot do this. I also hate waiting on the application because there is, and always will be, a little voice in the back of my head asking: “what if they don’t like me?”

Aside from making it to graduation, hearing about university, and the snap general election in the UK, there is one other event that is on the immediate horizon and that is Elfia. Laura mentioned the fact that she had wanted to go to one of these events dressed up and, knowing that I go to some of them, asked if we could do one of the days of Elfia together. I only needed the excuse really so I was up for it. Of course, this means that I am currently attempting to hand sew a full costume, having never made clothes before… in two weeks. To make it worse, I was going through a bit of a Midsummer Night’s Dream phase and particularly getting annoyed with Titania’s costuming (another discussion for another day)… well, I seem to be making some kind of Elizabethan inspired fairy queen type thing. Why can’t I ever take an easy route?

I’ve got the bodice sorted so that’s the hardest part done and I’m enjoying the making process so much. Anyway, we’ll see how that turns out. Really looking forward to Saturday!

Leave a Reply

