Bridal Veils, Snow, and Epic Romance

I’ve been a bit quiet on here as of late and I’ll be completely honest with you, there are multiple reasons for this. Firstly, I wrote a post a few weeks back and I forgot to press the post button. Oops. However, if you’re interested, you can now read all about what I’m going to be up to for the next few months by clicking just about here. Secondly, I keep banning myself from the internet because I. Must. Research. And. Write.

The last few weeks have been quite delightful really in that nothing huge but just general loveliness fashion.

We ended up with snow here which was lovely, for me. I had no-where particularly that I needed to go (except to Leiden to see Heleen but we rearranged that) and could just enjoy the atmosphere from the warmth. I did have to get my mother to the train station as she needed to catch a plane but that was quite fun too, especially once we realised that the trains and planes were going despite the weather. Miraculous, right? But quite seriously, one of the highlights of my month has been lying in bed at 3 a.m. with the curtains open, watching as the snow swirls around and drifting back to sleep in the silence that only this kind of weather can bring.

The other highlightwedding of the month was Valentines Day because I got to spend it with a couple of my favourite people. There was also pizza involved. And rose and lavender tea. And dressing up in the vintage bridal veils that just so happened to be hanging around. I won’t embarrass Laura by uploading a group picture but they do exist! I know that Valentines Day is one of those highly tacky holidays and it doesn’t replace every other day of the year but I still think it’s a good excuse to spend time with loved ones – romantic, familial, or platonic. Any excuse really!

Other than that, and the normal rhythm of life, I’ve been spending a lot of time on my capstone and I am loving the thing. I mean, it terrifies me because I still feel I’m only pretending to be academic and someone’s going to find me out one day… but also how much fun is this!? Seriously, I spent last night making mind-maps of character relationships in (Victorian) Arthurian legend and looking at the different types of romantic dalliances going on in there. How often do you get to feed the inner nerd in such ways and it actually be definitively worthwhile?

Right now I feel like I could do this forever. I have so many ideas and lines of thought buzzing around. I also have a feeling that in a few weeks I’m going to be feeling the exact opposite and I still have no idea how to pin down these buzzy ideas but hey, one step at a time, right?

Leave a Reply

