Not waving but drowning

I’ve got to be honest, I’ve always hated the poem that inspired the title of this post, ever since I first read it as a child and it made me sad. But that aside, it does kinda sum up how I’ve been feeling over the past few weeks.
The past semester has been basically non-stop which is wonderful in many senses but not great in many others. I’ve had a bustling social life and a lot of work. The work is interesting and it’s why I’m here so I’m not complaining in the slightest. Well, the social life is something to be grateful for so I’m not moaning about that either. However, the two combined has meant that I’ve not stopped in months and, more to the point, I’ve neglected some dear, dear friends as time has flown by out of control. Actually, I’ve neglected a lot of people and for that I am honestly sorry!
The past few weeks have been particularly hectic, what with being in multiple countries and having more deadlines than I care to count. I was at a point where I was unsure of whether I was going to manage; it all seemed way too much! To add to it, apparently my body likes dealing with stress by giving me quite horrific nightmares which means I’m up all night and therefore can’t work the day after… counter productive, body, counter productive!
Anyway, today I finally feel on top of things. Sure, I have a lot left to do but I’ve got it to a level where it’s manageable once more so I thought I’d take five minutes out just to write this. I often write about the good things that happen in my life, and I’m incredibly lucky that I have a lot to write about in that regard. I don’t want to ignore the harder times just because they’re not so pleasant – they’re a part of the life that I’m living and the life that I love.
I also don’t want to pretend that they don’t happen. It’s funny, whenever I’ve written a post like this I’ve had someone come up to me and talk about it because they were happy to read that someone else was feeling the same way as they do. It’s easy to construct a comfortable internet persona where it seems everything is perfect but sometimes it’s good to remind ourselves that, for the most part, we all have similar basic struggles every now and then.
Anyway, what was intended to be a very short updating post became quite long and heavy so I think I’ll say it’s not for facebook and leave it here! Just in case anyone is concerned after reading this – I’m 100% fine and always have been. A little bit of stress doesn’t hurt from time to time 🙂
In other news:
Just over a week before I go home – really excited. Nearly Christmas – super excited. And before all that Zoë’s coming out to visit again, I’m going to the Midwinter Fair, and it’s Winter Formal which is a good excuse to dress up, if nothing more!
Wow, so much still to do! Really looking forward to the next week!
Leave a Reply

