Two weeks until freedom!

I write this in a state of post exam, mid intensive period lassitude. It’s going to be one of those posts where, more so than normal, we are going to be lucky if anything makes sense. I’ll be honest with you, I am counting down the days until the end of term and until, firstly, my mother comes out and then until I go back home to England for a few weeks.
So, why the change of tone from my last post about my German A1 classes?
It’s not that I  don’t love German. I do. It’s just that it is a language with many grammatical rules and linguistic quirks. It’s not that I don’t have a good teacher. I do. It’s just that we are going at such a speed, as dictated by the schedule, that I feel that I’m being hit over the head with each new piece of information, unable to absorb any of it. It’s simply not how my brain works and, in fact, I wonder if anyone can really learn a language under these conditions in such a way as it is practical and not simply academic.
I feel that someones understanding of a language is something that really does have to develop rather organically. I’m a big supporter of the idea that we best learn languages as children do although I’m also well aware that the mistakes children make when they’re learning are decidedly less adorable coming from the mouth of a young adult. So, it seems that, while lessons are desirable for those of use who are no longer in the first few years of life, there should be some element of slower absorption whereby the language becomes natural as opposed to a stinted and formulaic production.
Okay, I’m also really frustrated that I understand such complex things in the language but can hardly string a sentence together for myself. Actually, frustrated does not begin to cover it.
That aside, I have a great little group in the class who are supportive and generally great fun so I am managing to maintain some semblance of sanity. I have the lovely Jacopo putting up with my moaning and reminding me that I actually do like the subject (as well as competing with me by setting up his own blog!) And, I am going to finally meet up with Annelies once again on Sunday which I am so looking forward to.
I’m afraid I’ve been living and breathing German recently so that’s all I have to say. Oh, I do have a blog post in the making regarding the wonderful gig I went to last weekend but I have such little time (and such few free brain cells) that I’m struggling to describe the evening in anything like an eloquent fashion… Soon!
Leave a Reply

