Visting Utrecht…kinda…

I’m attempting to blog each time I visit a place outside of Amsterdam or go to a specific event in order to give those of you back in the UK (or elsewhere outside of the Netherlands) a bit of an insight into the country, as I find it. However, today’s trip to Utrecht wasn’t the most interesting thing in the whole wide world to write about. Don’t get me wrong, I had a lovely time, and especially with good company, but it was simply so cold that I would have rather been at home!
As for Utrecht, it seemed like a really lovely place. Annelies has mentioned it to be various times, and how much she likes it, but I’d never looked round at all. I can’t say that I got a detailed overview of the city but I’ll certainly be going back soon. It was a lot easier than Amsterdam but seemed to still have a lot going on. In that sense it’s my kind of city.
The place I actually went to visit was De Dom, or St. Martin’s Cathedral, which is a Gothic style cathedral and bell tower, as my art history class was having a tour. It was okay but the conflict of interests between our tour guide and class lecturer, and the freezing cold environment meant that I didn’t really enjoy it as much as I could have. To be fair, by the end, I think the whole class was shaking so it wasn’t just me being a wimp…. for once.
The building itself is rather pretty, with some interesting internal features. I don’t know if I would have gone out of my way to view its architecture as it’s not one of the most wonderful religious buildings I’ve ever seen, as a holistic piece, but it was worth seeing all the same. Probably with better weather, and sunlight, it would have been a lot more interesting. I mean, you can see from my photos, it was one of those days where you can’t even see a cloud for the mass of white that is the sky. I don’t think that kind of weather does justice to buildings.
On the bright side, after the tour, Amber, Leike, Stephan, and I had a late lunch in the warm and that was so, so good. Good company and cozy temperatures… amazing!!
So yeah, Utrecht will certainly feature in this blog again and, no doubt, in a more positive light. Now, I’m going to attempt to get warm, get rid of my raging headache, and study a bit. Tomorrow is dress shopping day so there is joy ahead!
This post is not for facebook
Leave a Reply

