Escaping the bubble

Before setting out. Photo stolen from Leonoor.
As one of my classes has called a reading week this week, I had no class today (which was bliss) and a group of us used the chance to get out of the bubble and explore town a bit.
We caught the tram in and grabbed some really tasty pasta for lunch. The portions were huge, the food really tasty, the company even better… except I didn’t eat my companions. Anyway, moving swiftly on…
Rubbish photo but it was so tasty!!
We also had a moment looking at the library. I’m not sure if I’m going to join, myself, as you have to pay a fee to take books out and I just don’t think I will get enough use out of it but it’s a really sweet little place. Best of all, on the seventh floor there’s a café with a balcony which has a glorious view of the city. There’s a real feeling of freedom being up that high.
Moving on from the library, we went in search of vintage and second hand stores and my goodness, there are some beautiful clothing shops in the town. On the bright side, I don’t think I’ll ever find any of them again… if I do I could spend so much money so easily. Very proud that I didn’t spend my month’s allowance in one day! Once you get off of the tourist route this is such a lovely little city but you just have to work hard to get away from the artificial façade.
Human statue 😀
The evening was equally enjoyable with pizza take out and general chilling. All in all, a really fun day! Now I just have to work through the pile of reading that I’ve got to fight my way through for tomorrow… not so fun 😉 
Leave a Reply

