Castlefest review

It’s hard to believe that Castlefest was only one week ago. As always, it shoots by so quickly with an element of surreality that means that it is only days later that the brain finally starts to believe that it happened.

This blog post is somewhat later than my normal event summary posts as I’ve been unable to sit down and write, or sort through pictures. Indeed, as I type this I am still whittling down my 1000s of images to a few ‘good’ ones! I am also splitting it into a few sections (one post for each day) because it would be impossibly long otherwise!

Thursday

As those of you who are friends of mine on facebook (etc) will know, the start of Castlefest didn’t exactly go to plan for me. A combination of cancelled flights and standing in queues waiting for KLM for hours, and my own weak composition meant that I was actually quite ill for most of the weekend and chose not to camp. I also ended up having to miss the opening concert which, sad as it was, did allow me some recovery time before the weekend proper.
However, I am happy to say that there was one lovely surprise – the whole festival being live streamed meant that I was able to watch the show from the comfort of the flat my mother was renting. Admittedly, I would never have chosen to do it that way but it was surprising how much of the atmosphere did carry through the computer screen. It also meant that, for the first time, I managed to see a live performance of Dikanda. Every single time I have planned to see them live I have been ill – I think I’m going to give up đŸ˜‰

For Friday’s review, click here.

Leave a Reply

