Would you enter someone’s home uninvited?

Beware, this is a bit of a rant.
About fifteen minutes ago, I signed for a parcel on behalf of my neighbours. Now, I do this quite often and it’s not the end of the world. They go out while I work from home. Usually the person delivering the parcel rings my front door bell, I go to the door and sign for the thing.
Today things were a bit different. I was sitting in bed as I’m ill. My parents had gone out to the pub up the road to get something to eat (I don’t mind, by the way!) and I’d unlocked the front door to let them back in. We have an internal door that also locks due to the fact that the house was extended (before my time) and this door was, luckily, locked. 
Nevertheless, hearing a sudden beating against this door was concerning. A few moments later, the front door bell, which is located outside the front door, rang. I put the chain on the internal door (the major benefit of not having got round to changing the door since the sixties!) and shouted “What?!” through the crack in the door (*)
I was asked what house this was. I replied with the number which, incidentally, was prominently stated next to the really obvious doorbell that he had just rang which was next to our shut front door. In the end he asked me to sign for a parcel and was on his way.
Well, actually, last I heard he was in the drive still. Next door came back about 15 minutes later and, when I moaned at them about him (making it clear I wasn’t blaming them in the slightest!), they said he was still in the grove. That’s a little creepy.

So, I’m in the process of writing a letter to the parcel delivery company. To be honest, as a nineteen year old girl at home alone in her dressing-gown this wasn’t a pleasant experience. For someone vulnerable or elderly it could be terrifying. I could have been pretty bad for the delivery man too. My neighbour straight away said that if anyone had done that in their house he’d have hit them. To be fair, although I don’t condone violence in any way, I can quite understand his reasoning.

See, I told you this would be a rant and nothing more!

(*) I should probably say that I’m usually more polite to people who come to the front door but if you let yourself into my house then you classify as both a threat and as someone I’m angry with.
Leave a Reply

