Attempting to get back into translation

Well, it’s been three months since the last part of Marie Antoinette went online and I moaned about feeling out of practice then. I’ve not even been flexing my German let alone working out how to put German words, thoughts, concepts, implications, into coherent English. Yuk!
I feel bad about not having kept up with my translating, however, and spent the last couple of days getting up to speed with Marie Antoinette. I’ve all but finished the next part and, all things equal, hope to upload it tonight. I’m sitting here fighting with the hardsubbing programs… they’re winning, as always.

I’m also carrying on with Tanz der Vampire and want to get the English libretto for that done before I go away for Christmas and loose internet at the end of this week. Yes, I’m being optimistic but, in fairness, I did manage to create the revised English libretto of Elisabeth in a day. 

Other than that, it’s been Christmas chaos all around. Places have lost orders, sent wrong things, not taken my money or sent the order that I asked to have next day delivery on (and paid to have next day delivery on… if they take my money) Urk, urk, urk.
It’s not made any easier by the fact that we’re going down south to spend Christmas in a rented cottage. It’s a good thing, after all, carpet and a shower will be bliss, but it also means that we’re leaving the house later this week. It adds a little bit of stress but I am looking forward to it.
Anywho, no photos today so we’ll just have to make do with this:

Christmas Song of the Day

Silent Night sung by some of the cast of London’s Les Mis
My singing teacher is using this song to get me to work on vowels so trust me, it’s not one of my favourites right now. She was especially amused when I had to ask her for a copy of the words in English as I only knew the German version. Anyway, current developments aside, this is one of my favourite Christmas songs, and my mother’s complete favourite. Add to that the multi-language idea and I’m sold.
Leave a Reply

