Book review – ‘World After’ by Susan Ee



Rating: 5/5 stars

Plot:
In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.
When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.
Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.
Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

Review:
A couple of days ago I read and reviewed Angelfall, the first book in this series. I moaned that I had bought the book full price a few months back, only to see it on promotion the day after. Well, yesterday I saw World After reduced to half price and figured it was the universe readjusting itself. Naturally, I bought it.
I wasn’t too impressed by Angelfall’s ending. The rest of the book I loved but the ending just didn’t work for me. It’s my problem, and not a problem with the book, but it would have delayed my buying the sequel for a while had I not seen it going cheap. However, World After picks up right away. It’s got a very similar tone to Angelfall and, in many ways, a similar plot. Penryn quests for her sister while Raffe, who gets less page time, quests for his wings.
Something I liked a lot about Angelfall was the focus on secondary characters and this was a strength that continues in World After. Although Penryn is the focus of this novel we meet new characters along the way, and follow some of the old ones too. I think my favourite ‘other’ character has to be Clara. She tags along with Penryn and therefore is in the background, however, her own journey is really just as great. I didn’t even realize we’d been following her story until in concluded (as much as anything can).
I mentioned that Raffe wasn’t as prominently featured in this book but I didn’t really miss him. Penryn is a strong enough character to keep things going, perhaps a little too strong, and she’s interesting enough to keep the reader engaged. However, when Raffe turns up I found myself enjoying the book even more. It’s as though Ee’s writing style becomes more imaginative and vibrant when Raffe is present in a scene. Whereas the humour earlier in the book made me smile, I found myself laughing at things once Raffe was back. Part of me thinks the author must really like writing his character!
I also liked the ending a lot more. As always, I won’t include any spoilerish information but I feel that this ending feels better. Obviously, the last one was pretty good too because it led onto this book but you know what I mean! The best part of this book, and probably the series, is that I don’t know what will happen next but I trust Ee to construct the happenings in such a way that I believe in them! 

I bought this book in paperback format but the kindle edition is exceptionally good value if you click here (or indeed if you do a search on Amazon for yourself)!
Leave a Reply

