A flurry of activity

When I first started to apply to the Dutch university I was hearing from them every single day. I would see something in my inbox and my heart would go into my mouth. Worst of all was the email telling me that they were now processing my application (whatever that means) and that was the last I heard of them.
Silence.
It’s strange because I am in limbo. I have done all I can do and all I can do is wait. For how long?
Today I got this email…
I’ve not bothered to blank out my legal name but have
blanked out the teacher’s for obvious reasons. 
My final reference is in. Everything is there. Nothing’s really changed, not for me, but somehow just hearing this makes me feel ten times better. This teacher will have done be a good reference. I don’t know what she’ll have said about me but I trust that she will have been detailed, rigorous, and honest and that’s all anyone can ask for. The fact that all my references are in is quite reassuring.
I also booked my flight out for the university open day. Sadly, I’m coming back on the same day (it’s going to be tiring!) so I won’t get to see any of my friends out there… this time! It’s also going to be my first time visiting Amsterdam and I’m not going to actually have chance to look around. I’m determined to buy a gift for each of my diddy nephews out there though!
I’m actually really looking forward to going to the open day. I’m looking forward to being out of the country for a few hours and to have that freedom. It’s also nice to be arriving in a country without a suitcase as I’ll be able to work out public transport without having to worry about that big rectangular thing I’m pulling behind me! (*)

I’ve already thought about what happens if they reject me before the open day. Well, then I have a nice day trip to be a tourist, right? Oooh, I might even have my new camera by then!!

(*) Anyone who feels the need to point out that a suitcase isn’t actually rectangular as a rectangle is a 2D shape will be dropped into the Bog of Eternal Stench. Anyone who doesn’t know what the Bog of Eternal Stench is will be bogged twice. 

Christmas Song of the Day

Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer, performed in Hungarian 
by Szinetár Dóra and Bereczki Zoltán.
Dóra and Zoltán, the cutest couple in Hungarian musical theatre. Let’s not mention the D.I.V.O.R.C.E. Ahem. Their Christmas C.D. is stunning with some lovely arrangements of Christmas songs. Rudolf has to be my favourite on the disk and this is just a wonderful video. I believe that they pulled the girl from the audience (I think I saw that on a longer clip once upon a time) and the confusion on her face is quite brilliant. Okay, I love children. 
Leave a Reply

