Book review – ‘Angelfall’ by Susan Ee



Rating: 4/5 stars

Plot:
It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.


Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

Review:
It’s been a while since I wrote a book review as I’ve mainly been re-reading books due to my busy life right now. Today, however, I decided to pick up Angelfall and give it a go. I first came across Angelfall on Goodreads and decided that I would like to read it due to an interesting sounding plot and some wonderful reviews. It wasn’t until a couple of months back when I saw it in a book shop that I got around to buying it. The next day, I saw it on a very reasonable reduction on amazon (maybe even free, I don’t remember) and in my utter annoyance I put off reading the book!

Anyway, personal rant aside, onto the book itself.

The plot revolves around Penryn, her family, and the angel Raffe. What an odd little bunch they are! Penryn’s life could hardly be considered normal, even without the angel apocalypse, as her mother has severe mental health difficulties, her sister is wheelchair bound, her father is AWOL, and she’s a bit unusual in her own right. That said, she doesn’t seem too unusual so as to make her character unbelievable. To be honest, perhaps in such a situation as the end of the world it would be those who have had the unusual lives who survive. What I liked most about Penryn is the way her character thought, acted, and developed. Although she has some characteristics (like being family orientated, quite brave etc.) she goes through a lot of different emotions and thought processes, like any human being would.

Raffe himself almost has a parallel plot. Although we’re focusing on Penryn’s quest to find her sister we learn about Raffe along the way and, by the end of the novel certainly, it is as much his story as hers. I feel that the series may well start to develop the stories of other characters a lot more as Ee has ensured that there are enough interesting aspects to each of her characters, even those who are encountered for just a page. I find myself wanting to know more about the mourners in the woods, the host at the ‘1920s club’… characters who were only brushed upon. I guess that’s one of the greatest strengths of this novel. Every character that Ee introduces has a personality, a history, a humanity (species regardless).

Perhaps my favourite aspect of the novel was the way in which Ee included some really witty remarks, often from the mouths of her characters, and black humour. This never seemed forced but either added to the tone of the scene in the way that only dark humour can, or lightened the tension between the more hard hitting scenes. I’m two lazy to look up an example (my book’s in the other room!) but if you read the book you’ll see what I mean.

You might have noticed that I have basically described this book as though it deserves five stars and, in many ways, I think it does. Why four stars then? It’s because of the ending. As I don’t like to include spoilers in my reviews I can’t be too specific but every event from the hotel room scene onward just didn’t do it for me. It’s my problem and I can, in no way, blame the author or the book. I will read book two, though, and am sure that these happenings will grow on me! 

I bought this book for R.R.P. which is highly annoying because it was on offer straight afterwards. It was worth the money, however, and can be bought if you click here!
Leave a Reply

