Nursing an old friend back to health!

This is a blog of good news. Isn’t it nice to have a bit of good news once in a while? Yep, I think so too.
Anyway, casual rambling over, lets have some targeted rambling 😉
So, drum roll please…
I have mended the ‘cello!
You might remember that she had a bit of an accident involving my father shoving her behind a wardrobe. It wouldn’t do anyone any good to be treated in that way and she ended up quite injured but, thank the gods, not as badly hurt as she could have been. All the same it has taken me quite a lot of work to get her playable again, and she could still do with a new bridge at some point. I’m not complaining though because I didn’t think I’d be able to do it. I’m also lucky there wasn’t any internal damage because not only would that have been beyond my skills to repair it would also have been in the realms of the expensive.

I made sure she wasn’t going to slip (and damage herself again) when
posing for this photo by jamming her spike into the floorboards hehe
I’ve also, naturally, had a little play with her today. It’s weird because I haven’t been able to play for over six months now – it’s hard to be a nomad while carrying such a big bundle! I want to go back to playing the same as I was before my little break but physically can’t do it. I seriously can’t remember feeling such a burning feeling in my left fingers and right arm, and certainly not from playing for such a short period. On the plus side, I don’t seem to have lost all the technique which was something that concerned me a little bit. I can’t wait to get back to playing properly!
The other accomplishment of the day was the uploading of part three of Marie Antoinette, my current subtitling project. Technical problems galore but it’s finally online. I won’t bore you with ranting about that here but you can read about it on my subtitling livejournal account if you want. I genuinely feel that I’ve been productive today.
Now I’m going to go and relax with a nice cup of tea!
Leave a Reply

