Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning

If you’ve been reading my twitter recently then you’re probably fed up of hearing about cleaning. You probably don’t want to read this blog either!
For those of you who haven’t been reading my regular postings of under 140 characters (and who could blame you?) then I will explain a little. In short, my life has been taken over by cleaning. Any fantasies of spending my gap year relaxing, painting and playing music went out the window when I came back to the house in Birmingham to find out that, not only has my father not refurbished the house as he was supposed to (*), but it seems he hasn’t cleaned the livable areas in the six months he’s been here either. It might be a bit of an exaggeration… but not much! He’s also managed to break my cello so any ideas of playing that regularly have been shelved. On the bright side, I managed to repair most of the damage myself although the bridge will have to be replaced when I have some money spare.
However, rant above aside, I am quite settling into this house. I think it’s because I am having to spend all my time cleaning and cooking etc. that I haven’t had time to feel sorry for myself. The loneliness hasn’t set in yet and I don’t plan to let it do so.
I’m also really looking forward to starting the ‘real’ work. I’m probably going to start decorating my bedroom first because it’s the room with least structural work needed and, all things being equal, I hope to do that the week of the 19th. We should also get internet back at the end of that week so with all that, and results day (or The Day, as I’ve been calling it) I can see normality returning. It’s a good feeling.
I’ve also been listening to the CDs I bought from Castlefest, a lot. Not only have I really been enjoying them but I’ve also got an idea for a large painting from one of the songs. We’ll see what happens but hopefully I’ll get to have a go at that sooner rather than later. For those of you who are interested, I am looking at uploading my photos, and Castlefest review blog, on Wednesday 14th when I should be in a hotel and therefore have internet. Don’t quote me on that one though.

(*) in six months he has done four rows of tiles. Can’t say I’m that impressed. They’re not even small tiles. 
Leave a Reply

