Introducing Aimee

At Aimee’s Grandparents’ anniversary party
Aimee is someone who has got a fair few mentions in this blog so far, and will get a lot more mentions over the next few days/weeks, so I thought it only right that she get a bit of an introduction for those of you who don’t know her.
Aimee is, in simple terms, my best friend. She is annoying, puts no effort into our relationship, is unreliable, but I love her. We’ve been through so much together that, no matter what I might say at times, I would always be there for her. She’s a sister to me and so much more.
Soppiness aside, I met Aimee when I was eleven and we sat next to each other in science. She will tell you the story of how I sat down beside her, held out my right hand and said, in my private-school-educated voice, “Hello, my name is ___________(*), I do not believe we have met.” Yep, I’ve always been pompous but apparently I terrified her.
At Prom, aged 16. Aimee’s on the right looking like she’s about
to eat the camera man while I die of laughter.
I believe that our friendship was sealed when we both sneaked out of school without our parents permission before the summer fête. Naturally, we got completely lost and had to phone a friend for help. After this ‘friend’ telling us that we had “gone off the edge of the map” we were left to find our own way back. Did I mention we were both in full Victorian dress at the time?
She’s gonna kill me for putting this one online but eh, 
we both look ready to drop!

A million sleepovers later and there is nothing we don’t know about each other. No, I’m not going to tell you! Lets just say that she has to get used to the fact that I get really cold at night and I have to get used to the fact that she seems dead when she’s asleep, is impossible to wake up in the morning, and steals the duvet. 
She’s also met my family (and I hers) which is saying something for sure. We shared our eighteenth birthdays together both at family meals and going out. To be honest, I hope we share our eightieth, cliché as that is. As far as I’m concerned, she is family. She is family that I have chosen, and that is something very special indeed.

We took Aimee to an Indian restaurant in Birmingham that I went to as a child.
It was the first time she tried Indian food.

(*) I introduced myself by my full name which is something I only use in certain situations. Names, and their uses are important to me… eh, I won’t go into it here.
Leave a Reply

