Book Review: "The Fallen Star" by Jessica Sorensen


Rating: 2/5 stars

Plot:

“Up until recently, she has been incapable of feeling emotion. And when she’s around Alex, the gorgeous new guy at school, she can feel electricity that makes her skin buzz. Not to mention the monsters that haunt her nightmares have crossed over into real-life. But with Alex seeming to hate her and secrets popping up everywhere, Gemma’s life is turning into a chaotic mess. Things that shouldn’t be real suddenly seem to exist. And as her world falls apart, figuring out the secrets of her past becomes a matter of life and death.”
Review:
Having read a lot of fantasy/romance novels in the past few weeks I was really tired of the genre and really didn’t feel like another one. Sadly, finding that my wallet can’t keep up with my reading speed, I had to make do with what was on my Kindle, i.e. this. Although my mood might have influenced my enjoyment of the novel a little, I don’t think I would have enjoyed it even if it was exactly what I fancied.
A quarter of the way through I really wanted to drop the book but, having dropped another book recently, I couldn’t face doing it again so soon and ploughed on. The problems with the book seemed numerous so I’ll brush upon a few key points, for me.
  • It’s so cliché as to be unreal. Not only is the genre saturated at the moment (which doesn’t mean a good author can’t do well within it) but this novel seemed to mirror multiple other books. When I say mirror I kinda mean copy. From the first appearance of the male lead so many things about the story screamed “Twilight!!” but this was not the only thing it reminded me of.
  • The characters are annoying. Gemma is, well, really annoying. Yep, I know I repeated myself but I can’t think of any other way to describe her right now. I found it impossible to empathise with her, to relate to her, to understand her because nothing she does or says makes sense. The fact that she is experiencing new emotions  at the start of the novel does separate her out from ‘normal’ but this would have been okay if her awakening was handled with some insight. Instead, I felt that her reactions were childlike and unbelievable.
  • “How was it that three people wouldn’t be answering their phones at the same time? It couldn’t just be coincidental.” and other comments. Well, actually, that probably could be a coincidence, especially as two of those three live together and therefore could just have the television on or something. Okay, in context, this might not have been such a stupid comment but it still came across as overly melodramatic. It’s not just this sentence sounds a bit juvenile or over-the-top and this makes the happenings seem rather laughable as opposed to dramatic.

All that said, by the time I got to half way some kind of plot had started to develop and, despite it being predictable, and a bit random at times, it was relatively enjoyable. Yes, the characters were, for the most part, still insufferable but it got a bit better hence why it’s been given two stars as opposed to just one. The ending was, in my opinion, silly. It was a huge build up for a huge anti-climax. Yes, I know that there’s a sequel but I don’t think I could face another book that drags by, even if it’s only the first part that does so, just to find out what happens next.
As I write, this novel is free on amazon. For a UK download link click here.
Leave a Reply

